Asia

Luang Prabang Tourism – Laos

Royal Palace Museum

The Royal Palace Museum, commonly known as Haw Kham, is located on the Mekong River’s western bank. The Royal Palace of Luang Prabang was once housed in this National Museum. King Sisavangvong constructed it in the early twentieth century. The royal family was exiled to northern Laos during the 1975 revolution, and the palace was converted into a museum. It is currently known for retaining the Lan Xang kingdom’s regal throne. This museum houses religious artefacts, presents given to the royal family, and Buddhist scriptures. This museum also houses the famous Phra Bang Buddha image. It’s on Th Sisavangvong Street in Bangkok.

Phousy Market

A few kilometres south of the town centre is Phousy Market on Th Phothisarat street. It is the town of Luang Prabang’s primary market. A number of stores offering a variety of things, such as hardware, kitchenware, clothes, and home items, may be found here. In addition to fresh fruits and vegetables, this market offers a variety of prepared foods.

Phu Si Hill

Phu Si Hill is located in the centre of Luang Prabang. From this hill, you may get a good perspective of the town. To get to the summit of the hill, visitors must climb 329 stairs. There are a lot of temples on the hillsides that are not very ancient. Wat Pa Huak, That Chomsi, Wat Tham Phu Si, and the ruins of Wat Pha Phutthabaht are some of the important temples here. The remains of Wat Pha Phutthabaht are thought to date from the late 14th century. The colourful Pii Mai event is held here on Lao New Year’s Day, with a parade starting from That Chomsi.

Wat Xieng Thong

Wat Xieng Thong, commonly known as the Golden City Monastery, is one of Luang Prabang’s most spectacular temples. The temple, which overlooks the Mekong River and dates from 1560, is located on the extremity of the Luang Prabang peninsula. King Setthathirath of the Lan Xang Kingdom was the one who built it. Slanted roofs, glass paintings, and colourful mirrors adorn the shrine. Golden leaves adorn the building’s exterior. Another highlight of the monastery complex is a royal burial chapel with different treasures. It is a favourite among photographers who like taking its pictures from various angles.

Wat Wisunalat

Wat Wisunalat, also known as Wat Visoun, was founded around 1520 and is located east of the town centre. King Visounarat constructed it. It is the city’s oldest temple, having been in continuous operation since its erection. The temple was severely damaged in a fire in 1887, but it was reconstructed. From 1504 until 1715, and again from 1866 to 1874, this wat was home to the golden Buddha figure Prabang. The massive That Makmo (Watermelon Stupa or Lotus Stupa), which dates from the early 16th century, may be seen here. The main hall is decorated with wooden Buddha images and ordination stones. It may be found on Wisunalat Street.

Wat Xieng Muan

Wat Xieng Muan is located in Luang Prabang’s ancient area. The building’s ceiling is ornately adorned with golden snake motifs. The wat’s former monk quarters are now utilised to educate new monks. The trainee monks learn how to properly maintain the city’s many temples. They are taught painting, woodcarving, and other arts, as well as how to make Buddha statues out of wood blocks or clay.

Wat Long Khun

Wat Siri Moung Khoung, also known as Wat Siri Moung Khoung, is located near the Mekong River. The wat, which dates from the 18th century, was restored by the Department of Museums and Archeology in 1995 and now appears to be quite attractive and alive. In this building, one can also see a lot of Jataka murals.

Wat Mai Suwannaphumaham

Wat Mai Suwant tophumaham was built in the late 1800s. It took over 70 years to finish. For a few years, the Pha Bang Buddha was housed in this wat before being moved to the Royal Palace. The rooftop of the wat is divided into five levels. Golden bas-reliefs cover the outside, depicting the life tales of Phravet, a Buddha incarnation.

Wat Pha Baat Tai

Wat Phra Bat Tai is located on the Mekong River’s western bank. The monastic structure dates back to the 17th century. Wat Keo was the name of the temple when it first opened. It was a tiny wooden temple where members of the Vietnamese minority worshipped. The temple’s sim was damaged by fire in 1833. The current structure is constructed in the Vietnamese style. On weekends, a large number of Vietnamese community members attend this temple.

Pak Ou Caves

Pak Ou Caves are located north of Luang Prabang, near the meeting of the Mekong and Nam Ou rivers. By boat, it takes roughly an hour to get here from Luang Prabang. Locals call these caverns ‘Tam Ting,’ which means ‘Caves of a Thousand Buddhas.’ The Lower Cave and the Upper Cave are two cave systems at this location. In the Lower Caves, there are around 2500 Buddha figures. Around 1500 Buddha statues may be found in the Upper Caves. Many figures are constructed of wood that has been lacquered and gold leafed. Locals see these figures as sacred and worship them with flowers, candles, and other offerings.

Tat Kuang Si

Tat Kuang Si is located around 20 miles (32 kilometres) south of Luang Prabang. A lovely multi-tiered waterfall may be seen here. You may also witness a variety of limestone formations that were produced as a result of water activity. After ascending a few steps from the road, you’ll arrive to the lower level of the waterfall, which features a swimming pool. Food, shelters, and other tourist amenities are available at this location. For guests, there are several restaurants, cafés, and beer shops.

Nong Khiaw

The town of Nong Khiaw, also known as Muang Ngoi, is a fascinating place to visit. The Nam Ou River divides the town into eastern and western halves. The western portion of Nong Khiaw has a boat pier and is busier than the eastern. The settlement is surrounded by limestone cliffs. Wooden buildings line both sides of the river, making for a lovely sight to see. The atmosphere in and around town is quite quiet and serene. The river can be seen from almost anywhere in town.